top of page
Search
  • Mary Scuralli

Second Chances


So, I told you about my Brandi girl. She is my 16 year old Brittany pointer mix, a wonderful senior dog. About two months ago she gave us quite a scare. I understand she is 16 and I wont have her forever, but I am not ready to part with her yet.

She was good all day, but at dinner time she suddenly wasn't good. She couldn't stand or eat or much of anything. It was both sad and scary to see. The next morning she hadn't gotten any better. I hoped that somehow over night she would bounce back to her old self. We made a appointment for the local vet and feared bad news. Our biggest fear which now looked like a reality was we were going to have to put her to sleep.

I can't believe how lucky we got. The technician at the Fredon Animal Hospital asked about taking her temperature. I had decided nothing drastic would be done to her, but the temperature seemed like a good idea. We found out she had a fever. The vet suggested a blood test. Again, sounded minimal, but would might give us a solution to the fever. The results of the blood test were back in minutes and it turned out she had a tick born illness. The vet's solution was an easy one of antibiotics and anti inflammatories. In two short days what a difference. Our old dog was eating, running again and back to her normal quirky self. I am so happy the vet took the time to listen to us and evaluate our girl to find the right diagnosis. Again I know I won't have Brandi forever, but luckily I have her for a little while longer.

As a pet sitter most of your pet jobs here in Sussex County will vary, but will be relatively happy. One client uses us for our pet taxi service. The client no longer drives, but still needs to get her senior dog to the vet.

Last week she called upset and concerned that her dog was failing. We set up a time to being her and her sweetie to the vet. She told me when I picked her up that she was going to have her senior dog put to sleep. This was not a job I wanted to be part of. When we got to Fredon Vet I told her I wanted to stay with her and go into the appointment with her if that was alright. If her dog had to be put to sleep I didn't want her to be all alone for it.

Again Fredon vet took the time to examine her dog and listen to her concerns. The decision was made to adjust and add additional medications for him. I checked on my client since then and I am happy to say the sweet senior dog was happily snacking on some bacon.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page