top of page
Search
  • Mary Scuralli

Senior dogs


I am lucky to have a senior dog. Her being older does change things a little and make new challenges. She is a little slower and her hearing and eyesight are not what they were. The other dogs help her when she needs it. My Brandi is sixteen now. We are not sure her exact age as we adopted her without any information. The vet ball parked her age after we got her from Eleventh Hour Rescue. I don't even remember when we got her. I know I can't think of a time that she wasn't in our lives.

We know she is originally from Georgia. She was rescued from a shelter where she was scheduled to be put down. At the time of her rescue she was pregnant. After her babies were adopted it was her turn to find a forever home and we were lucky to get her. She is a Brittany Spaniel mix which I quickly learned is a high energy breed. I was mystified how she kept getting loose and chasing after small animals. One minute she was in the house and the next she was running through the yard. Finally, I realized she was able to open the door and she looked for opportunities to dart out through an open door. Quickly all doors were closed tightly and locked up to prevent future escapes. Eventually she has stopped trying to dash off. Whether she has mellowed with age or just settled in I don't know, but I know longer worry about her running off.

Her disposition is always loving. She has been wonderful with the kids and with any other pets we have had in our lives.

I understand why many people choose to adopt senior dogs. Every time I read about a new facility dedicated to loving and caring for senior dogs I smile a little more.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page